The Tennessee Titans lost their season opener against the Denver Broncos on Sunday, 20-12. The team left a number of plays on the field.
Head coach Brian Callahan is now under fire for his refusal to challenge what appeared to be an incredible catch by Elic Ayomanor. He admitted his ignorance surrounding a key rule in his reasoning.
The Titans went back and forth with the Broncos throughout the afternoon, with the two sides trading leads across the first 45 minutes of play.
Tennessee struck first with an early field goal, though Denver would take a 10-9 lead into the halftime break. The Titans rebounded with another kick to make the score 12-10 in the third quarter. From there, it was all Broncos.
Denver outscored its counterpart 10-0 over the final 20 minutes of gametime. It left with a one-score win in Game 1.
One play from that opener is now being scrutinized. The Tennessee coaching staff is under fire for failing its offense.
One elbow equals two feet
This was a catch#Titans pic.twitter.com/BypVY4sVmA
— Wes Wisley (@TitansStats) September 8, 2025
With the Titans trailing 13-12 in the second half of action, receiver Elic Ayomanor appeared to haul in an incredible grab. The pass catcher leapt over Patrick Surtain II to secure the catch. He controlled the ball to the ground as he fell to the sidelines.
The play was ruled an incomplete pass. Replay, however, appeared to show Ayomanor’s elbow coming down inbounds before the rest of his body made contact with the ground.
According to the NFL handbook, he achieved the necessary requirements for a catch.
Section 1. Forward Pass
Article 3. Completed Or Intercepted Pass
A forward pass is complete (by the offense)… in the field of play, at the sideline, or in the end zone if a player, who is inbounds:
- secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
- touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
- after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, clearly performs any act common to the game (e.g., extend the ball forward, take an additional step, tuck the ball away and turn upfield, or avoid or ward off an opponent), or he maintains control of the ball long enough to do so.
One elbow equals two feet. Brian Callahan was unaware of that definition.
Callahan was asked why he didn’t challenge the play, which would’ve resulted in a fresh set of downs. He said he didn’t believe there was enough to overturn the ruling.
Brian Callahan on choosing not to challenge the Ayomanor catch/non-catch.
Says the call from upstairs was to not challenge, foot being down in addition to elbow was unclear....