Brian Callahan knows the catch rule now, but did he yesterday?

Brian Callahan knows the catch rule now, but did he yesterday?
Music City Miracles Music City Miracles

Tennessee Titans head coach Brian Callahan said at the end of his opening statement at today’s press conference that he misinterpreted the rule that states that an elbow is the same as two feet, and that he should have challenged the play:

It’s hard to see how one could misinterpret that rule, but Callahan took ownership of his mistake. That would have been all well and good, except he backtracked on that later in the presser, saying that he misspoke and that he knows the rule:

Well, now I’m confused. Did he misinterpret the rule, or did he misspeak?

Again, I appreciate Callahan’s candor. He is one of the most open coaches in the NFL, but it would have served him well to just point back to the statement he made at the beginning of the press conference here instead of trying to defend his knowledge of the rules.

It’s hard to know what to think at this point, but my takeaway here is that Callahan did not know that one elbow equals two feet – especially considering that in the post-game presser yesterday, he said that Elic Ayomanor would have needed to get a foot down for it to be a catch. It’s hard to fathom that a guy who has been in the NFL for more than 15 years wouldn’t know that rule.