Brian Callahan was asked in his press conference after the Tennessee Titans’ 20-12 loss to the Denver Broncos why he didn’t challenge this deep pass from Cam Ward to Elic Ayomanor that was ruled incomplete:
He said it was because Ayomanor only got an elbow in bounds and that he needed to do more for it to be a catch. That is factually incorrect, as Paul Kuharsky laid out here:
To summarize: One elbow equals two feet.
It is really inexcusable for Callahan not to know that is the rule. I have been rooting for Callahan to succeed as the head coach here, but he had a horrible game today. From not knowing this rule to some of the playcalling today – especially the series right before halftime.
With that being said, there is still time for Cally to rebound here. This is just one game in what is a long season. There is still plenty of time for him to prove that he can coach, but he is not off to a good start.
He needs to get it together soon. With the reports that the front office considered a fresh start last offseason, there isn’t much room for Callahan to have games like he did today.